will they, won’t they?

Is there a plan to ‘kill’ Facebook? No one seems to be quite sure. A recent Youtube video apparently from worldwide internet activist (hacktivist?) collective Anonymous claims they’re planning to kill the social network on November 5 this year, the 500th anniversary of Guy Faulks Day (I think that’s right). BUT then a tweet on their official Twitter account claimed it was a hoax, and they’re not into doing that kinda thing. Then ANOTHER Tweet admitted that some in their ranks are actually planning it, but others aren’t keen. Watch the vid then I’ll keep talking.

Who knew that Stephen Hawking was an internet hacker anarchist? (OK OK, I stole that from one of the commentors on Youtube, I’m lame). After watching it I found myself wasting eons of time going through their other videos. Apparently they’re also planning to bring the whole  system down over the next year too. Well well.

A confession: when I watched this video, I felt this quiet guilty hope that they do wipe out Facebook on November 5. Guilty, because I’m on Facebook. Very hypocritical I know. Guilty because if I don’t like Facebook, doesn’t mean that choice should be made for everyone when I can just close my account (but they’ll still sell all my info to the Freemasons!) I think maybe it’s just that deep down I have something of a revolutionary streak in me. Yeah, when I was a teenager I had the whole New World Order thing pegged. I knew what was going on. Really, I wanted, and still want, to be caught up into something bigger than me. I guess I feel like for so long I’ve been cruising along on the highway of being comfortable, of – well working hard, yes, but at the same time cruising in an entertainment culture, one where everything’s offered to you on a plate, more and more as more and more technology gets created, but where none of it seems to be overwhelmingly significant somehow. We can communicate with effortless ease with people all around the world, but what do we have to say to each other? I don’t really think carrying out an operation like erasing Facebook is a good or useful idea, and most of this group agree. I say the feeling I had arises as a misdirected attempt to grab a hold of something else. Something bigger.

See, whether you think Anonymous are onto something or whether you think they’re a bunch of delusional wannabes, they live under this meta narrative, this overarching story that explains the world (a concept much maligned today), revolving  around the domination of the world by the powerful few, and the epic struggle between good and evil for justice and equality where they stand defiantly on behalf of the human race. (If you think I’m overstating the case, watch this). As a Christian I also believe in an overarching story behind the world. A story involving a battle between good and evil – and I have wondered at times whether the world wide church has lost the revolutionary and activist nature it once had at the beginning. How has it happened that the group of people claiming to follow Jesus Christ can be seen by so many as being The Man himself? But then I remember that the Bible has a lot to say about The System, particularly in the books of Daniel and Revelation. People go on and on about the details of these books, but at their heart is the acknowledgement of the system, the empires, the power holders, who ruthlessly crush the people of the world under their feet for their own gain. But what the Bible talks about isn’t one small group of men and women who hold the world in their hands who need to be brought down by the very essence of humanity. Rather, its the cycle of history. One empire rises to crush the world, and is eventually brought low by those who will rise to become the next empire…and so on and so on. The System, the Empire, the New World Order doesn’t reside in a particular political or economic structure, or behind one set of laws. It resides in the heart of man. In the very essence of humanity. The other difference that the Bible brings to bear is the solution. For it doesn’t rest in any number of us getting together to bring about change, as good as that might be in and of itself. It can never be the final solution. The cycle ends with the ushering in of another Kingdom. Not a kingdom of humanity, but
the Kingdom of God. Not a corrupt and despotic kingdom, but one in which the pride, greed, selfishness and power struggles of  humanity are destroyed and replaced with justice, compassion and peace.  A Kingdom not under the reign of a usurper, a cruel and capricious dictator or a Machiavellian prince, nor exposed to the chaotic lack of leadership envisaged by Anonymous, but under the reign of the One who won the victory over death, who wipes clean the guilt and shame of all those who trust in him,who gives life:  Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

